Onboarding new team members + understanding competencies

• 4 September 2023
  • 4 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +1

Hello everyone, 

My name is Bec and I’m a Product Manager looking into Contractor Management at SafetyCulture. Part of our research has uncovered a big need for tracking qualifications of workers (both contractors and internal employees) which is something we are currently working on. 

I’m researching how we can onboard workers into an organisation including collecting relevant qualifications from workers. I’d love to start a discussion to help me answer a few questions: 

1. What type of information do you need to collect from new workers when they start working with your organisation? 
  2. Does this differ for contractors vs internal employees? 
  3. How do you track the type of information you need to collect? (Excel, ISO standards, a very knowledgeable team members brain etc)
  4. In the SafetyCulture platform, if we were to introduce the ability to create an onboarding checklist where would you envision this would be found? 

I would love to hear more to see how we can solve this problem in the SafetyCulture platform to continue to help businesses understand the qualifications of their workers. 

This topic has been closed for comments

4 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hi Bec,

I’ve spoken to a number of people at SafetyCulture about this issue - earlier today I spoke to @Austin Turner about it!

Answers to your questions are below, however, I think there’s a much bigger opportunity to improve productivity across the (construction) industry, as all this information needs to be shared with contractors and government organisations.

Each builder, government agency, and project has its own competency management system. That means that as well as collecting this information from employees/contractors when they commence employment, we also need to share it in a variety of web-based portals each time we start a project, or pick up a new client.